•  Beth's Blog•  World News•  Local News•  Food•  Arts•  Science•  Religion / Philosophy•  Politics•  Sports•  DIY•  Back Page• 
You are Here: Politics

Mexico Immigration

by
beth
Executive Editor
Published on Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:11 pm

Most mornings on my commute to work I listen to "The Murphy in The Morning Show." Today was no different, I've been doing so for so many years, I feel like I practically know every thing about Jack, and the other Djs on the show. This mornings topic, was Immigration. Undoubtedly this was expected since it's probably the most prominent news story in the US right now. I realize Jack Murphy, the shows host is a bit conservative, and yes maybe even republican. This is to be expected since I'm sure he makes in excess of 6 digits a year, and has previously boasted how he drives his Hummer. Still I was surprised at the overall number of callers who called in supporting his pro-communist, keep the "wetbacks" out philosophy. When several individuals called in trying to explain the situation, he was unwilling to even listen, or contemplate a compromise. While I did find Josh's recommendation of building 2 fences and letting pit-bulls roam in between them, amusing... no one on the show has the education, real-life experience, nor compassion to even basically debate immigration. Technically this goes for 90% of America in my opinion.

First and foremost, you want a simple answer? Lets ask first and second generation Hispanic, and Mexican citizens what they feel should be the best choice for America. I would think of anyone, they could probably base their decisions with more understanding, and real-life experience then any of us decade old descendants of immigrants could understand.